Dental Care in America

In a California audit last December, it was found that 56 percent of children enrolled in the Denti-Cal program did not receive dental care in the previous year.

On the one hand I would opine this to be a positve thing. I have done my research into the so-called dental care provided by American dentists. All too often dentists are out to make a profit and perform expensive procedures. For example a full mouth set of dentures can cost as much as a high end car in todays dollars. Two people I inteviewd who recently had a full denture procedure said their experience was an ordeal. Initially their entire set of natural teeth were extracted, not a pretty precedure. The patient was left with excrutiating pain and weeks unable to eat solid food. Later when the dentures were fitted the patient complained that they did not enjoy eating as before. They also reported being unable to eat the foods they loved because the denture device did not provide normal jaw range of motion as is normal when a person chews food of a variety of textures and hardness. Sure the two patients now sport a Hollywod smile, but at what cost?

Personally I would rate dentists in a category of barbarians more interested in their bottom line than their patients. I would go further and say they are sadistic fiends. So in closing I want to say that if I never visit the dentist again it will be too soon. Of course I have learned that in life one should never say never. Still I would urge patients to question the care dentists provide.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.